Drs Katherine Zappone and Ann Louise Gilligan win "Persons of the Year" at the first annual GALAS

1 Oct 2009

KAL2 Ann Louise Gilligan and Katherine Zappone

Some of the MarriagEquality team attended the first annual GALAS on the 25th of September, and were so proud when our heroes Drs Katherine Zappone and Ann Louise Gilligan were awarded "Persons of the Year".

The GALAS 2009 were created in recognition of people, both gay and straight, who are committed to advancing equality and social acceptance for gay people. The awards were created by the National Lesbian and Gay Federation (NLGF) to celebrate 21 years of publishing Ireland's gay magazine, 'GCN' and the trophies were designed by ceramicist Mo Maloney.

The ceremony was hosted by RTE Radio 1 presenter, Derek Mooney and journalist Una Mullally.

Winners on the night were:

# Community Organisation of the Year: BeLonGTo.

# Volunteer of the Year: LGBT Noise and Noel Walsh.

# LGBT Business Person of the Year: Rory O'Neill / Panti Bar.

# Employer of the Year: Google.

# Gay-Friendly Politician of the Year: Ivana Bacik.

# Journalist of the Year: Jackie McKeown.

# Best Media Representation of the Year: Margaret Gill.

# Blogger of the Year: Gaelick.

# Event of the Year: Bingham Cup

# Noel Walsh HIV Campaigner Award: Mick Quinlan.

# Molly Malone Irish Gay Icon of the Year: David Norris.

# Person of the Year: Katherine Zappone and Ann Louise Gilligan.

More details on the awards can be found on the website www.galas.ie

Congratulations to all the winners! We are looking forward to next year's awards already.